A Month of Gratitude

November
Happy November!

Yes, I’m a smidge late with the greeting. By the time this posts, I’ll be close to a week late. What can I say? It’s been a rough year. Better late than never.

I just wanted to take a quick second and fill you all in on what’s going on.

November is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I’ve never participated, and this year is no different, I’m afraid. I’m never ready to start a new project when November rolls around, and even if I was, I’d lose too many days at the end of the month (preparing for Thanksgiving and then decorating for Christmas). However, that doesn’t mean I’m not writing. I’m actually putting up some huge numbers on my daily word count. One day I got close to 10,000! That was pretty exciting. If you’re interested in seeing my daily progress, join my private FB group, Staci Troilo’s Novel Idea, because that’s where we’ve been talking about daily word count. We chat about all sorts of things in there. It’s a friendly and fun atmosphere, and I release exclusive info there first, so you might want to join us. I hope to see you there.

Also going on this month is the release of Medici Protectorate Series Book 3, Body Armor.Ā  It’s already received a wonderful five-star review, which touched my heart. I’m sure you saw the posts about the release, but if not, this is the last time I want to bring it up for a while. I’m excited about Nico and Donni’s story, but I don’t want to keep saying the same thing over and over. Let me just say this (and then move on): If you still didn’t grab your copy, you can download it here. Paperback and hardcovers soon to follow.

Christmas will be here before we know it, but I hate to skip over Thanksgiving. I’m not signing off for the year or anything, but I wanted to tell you all how grateful I am for you. I always look forward to our chats here, and it’s because of how special you all are. So… thanks! Also, in the spirit of the holiday, let me share with you a favorite recipe. If you like sweet potatoes but are tired of the cinnamon or maple versions, you might find this recipe (almost always on my Thanksgiving table) a lighter, more refreshing version.

Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe

I will be having a few guest posts coming up, and I’ll fill you in on those as they arise. In the meantime, I will be writing like crazy and looking forward to catching up with you guys here or in the Facebook group.

As always, wishing you a wonderful day. And, hey, if you try the recipe, let me know what you think! šŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “A Month of Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links | Staci Troilo

  2. I think you’re going to surpass NaNo word count even though you’re not officially participating.

    I’ve done NaNo 3 times. The last two times, I failed miserably due to getting sick one year and having back problems the other year. That amounted to almost zero computer time. The first year I participated I racked up 53K in 25 days. Later that summer I added another 30K and that book became A Thousand Yesteryears. I would love to be that lucky with NaNo again, but….alas šŸ™‚

    Beautiful post. I like sweet potatoes at Thanksgiving but only with a little bit of butter and brown sugar. And sweet potatoes on the grill any time of year are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know, I’ve never had a grilled sweet potato, but they sound delicious! Adding that to my list…

      If your successful NaNo attempt became A Thousand Yesteryears, you should always write like it’s NaNo. That’s one of my favorite books!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Our family has a love/hate relationship with sweet potatoes – hubby and I don’t care for them, oldest son eats them purely for health benefits, and the youngest only eats sweet potato fries. Like you, there’s no way I could do NaNoWriMo – too busy with holidays, and we always travel for Thanksgiving. Loving your word counts, Staci (and very envious)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know where my love for sweet potatoes came from. Growing up, I never had them because the whole family hated them. And the first time I tried them as an adult, I wasn’t a fan. I think it might have been sweet potato fries that turned the corner for me. But now, I LOVE them. I eat them often as a side dish, either roasted or baked (like a potato) with butter and salt. My son prefers them sweetened with cinnamon sugar or maple syrup or something. I won’t complain too much, though, if it gets him to eat a starch that isn’t wheat or corn!

      Thanks for the word count cheer, by the way. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Pineapple is a favorite of mine, too. When I was pregnant with my son, I once ate two entire pineapples in one sitting. It was the only thing I could hold down!

      I was thinking about adding eggs to the casserole this year, to make it more souffle-like, but Hubby just told me he wants to stay low carb, even through the holiday, so I may not be making this dish at all. Looks like mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes and more veggie sides. (I can’t complain, though, because I like veggies.)

      Like

Your turn...

