Book Excerpt: Body Armor

Body Armor CoverI’ve done a few character interviews and excerpts leading into the upcoming release of Medici Protectorate Book 3, Body Armor. To this point, pretty much every promotional piece I’ve shared has been about Nico or Donni.

That’s about to change.

Today, I’ve decided to share an excerpt with you that’s from a different perspective—from that of the antagonist.

If you’ve read the first two books, you know this organization is nothing to be trifled with. They fight dirty, and they don’t suffer fools or failure. The following excerpt is from the antagonist’s POV. It’s my hope that it will give you a little insight as to how things work on the other side.

(Note: The following excerpt contains foul language.)


There Nico was. Alone. Unprepared.

Had to be fate smiling on him. This was his chance at redemption. His chance to make things right with the organization, to get off the hot seat.

Should he call it in or take matters into his own hands?

What was that saying? Better to ask forgiveness than permission?

Fuck that. The organization didn’t give second chances. He pulled his phone out and called Sal, who picked up on the first ring. Sounded completely alert and lucid despite the late hour. “What do you want?”

“Micelli left the compound. I’m at his location right now.”

“Where?”

“San Crisogono. Came home, just like I said he would.”

“I don’t have time to get a unit there.”

“Want me to follow him when he leaves? I can tail him, get a fix on the location of their operations.”

“No need. I already know where they are.”

Bastardo. If he knew, why didn’t he report it? Why didn’t they raid the place and take the Brotherhood out? “So, we going to make a move on their compound?”

“No. What are you, simple? Do you know how heavily that place will be guarded, fortified? We wouldn’t stand a chance.”

“Then why am I on stakeout duty? What’s the point?”

“Divide and conquer. You said he’s by himself, right?”

“Yeah.”

“Here’s what you’re going to do.”

He listened to Sal with rapt attention, a smile spreading on his face. Finally, not just a chance to set things right with the organization, but a chance to make a difference. A chance to turn the tide in their favor.

When he was through, he’d have a place of honor with the group. Maybe even pass Dante and become Sal’s number two.

They ended the call, and he sat, struggling for the patience to wait until he could put the plan into action.


There you have it. A peek into the thoughts of the antagonist Nico and Donni are facing. I don’t want to give anything away, but at the end, when it all hits the fan (as it always does), you won’t believe who’s really behind everything. The reveal totally floored my beta readers, my editor, and my publisher. Made me smile a sadistic little grin.

I’d love to know what you think. Body Armor will be releasing soon, but until then, sound off with your opinions about the above excerpt or any of the promo I’ve shared about the novel. I appreciate your thoughts.

15 thoughts on “Book Excerpt: Body Armor

  1. Great excerpt, Staci! Another one I’m adding to my TBR pile, and hoping I’ll someday have time to read again. sigh I miss the days BW (Before Writing) when I actually read somewhere between two and five books a week! But not having that luxury means I’m busy with my own books, and for now, that’s a tradeoff I’m willing to make. Can’t wait to read this one, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

