Book Review: Jacquie Biggar’s TEMPTED BY MR. WRONG

Tempted by Mr. WrongHow can something so wrong, feel so right?

Falling for her step-brother is a mistake T.J. doesn’t want to repeat, but one look into those sapphire blue eyes and she’s ready to give Jason whatever he wants.

Tammy-Jo Hawthorne’s marriage was floundering, but she never expected her husband to make her the laughing stock of Magnolia.

And she definitely didn’t expect to trip over him in their front yard after he’d been murdered.

Jason McIntyre was forced out of his home and away from the love of his life by the man who’d haunted his nightmares for ten long years.

Now Jason’s back—and he wants revenge.

·•◊♦◊•·

My Review:

5.0 out of 5 starsSteamy and Dreamy

This is the first story I’ve read by Jacquie Biggar. It won’t be the last. TEMPTED BY MR. WRONG hits all the right romance notes without succumbing to trite tropes.

The heroine is as down-on-her-luck as she could be. She’s in a pickle from the opening page, and things only get worse from there. But despite all the distress, I wouldn’t say she’s a damsel waiting to be saved. She has attitude, fortitude, spirit.

Doesn’t mean the hero isn’t an alpha male determined to save her, though. He very much is, even though he resists at first given their history.

I love it when chemistry overrides practicality, and that’s exactly what happens here. They both fight the attraction, and they both fail miserably. Those hot-and-heavy scenes more than satisfy any romance lover’s expectations.

The situation is unlikely to be one you’ll ever experience in real life (thank goodness for that!) but it’s not unbelievable. The story was a lovely blend of high-stakes, low points, and all the good stuff in between. The plot moved along at a brisk pace, the good characters are ones you’d like to have a drink with and the bad ones will make your hate-list.

I’ve had this author on my radar for some time now, but I never got around to reading her work before. I’m really glad I made the time to read this story. I highly recommend it. And now Jacquie Biggar’s other titles are moving up in my TBR pile.


To learn more about Jacquie Biggar and her work, or to find links to connect with her on social media, visit her website.

19 thoughts on “Book Review: Jacquie Biggar’s TEMPTED BY MR. WRONG

  1. Pingback: Reading Links…9/26/17 – Where Genres Collide

    • Glad to do it. Good writing should be celebrated, particularly when the author isn’t published by NY. Too often these non-NY writers are overlooked, so I’m happy to do my part to shine a spotlight on them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You made my day, Staci! Here I was trolling my reader pages on WordPress and came upon Don’s reblog! So happy you enjoyed T.J. and Jason’s story. I read a Susan Elizabeth Phillips book a few years ago about a woman who had it all, and then it was gone-Ain’t She Sweet?
    That story resonated with me. Sugar Beth was spoiled, willful, arrogant, and rich- until she wasn’t. In the end it changed her personality into someone we could like.
    Tammy-Jo was my attempt at this metamorphosis.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think you succeeded. She started the novel as the quintessential spoiled rich daughter and wife, but you stripped all that away. FAST. I enjoyed her character arc quite a bit. I loved Jason. And his mother was an absolute doll. She made the book for me. (I, too, have watched loved ones eaten away by dementia, so that element really resonated with me.)

      Very nicely done, Jacquie.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “And she definitely didn’t expect to trip over him in their front yard after he’d been murdered.” Totally caught me by surprise when reading the description – definitely wasn’t expecting that. Nice review, Staci!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I purchased this book when it first came out, and it’s next on my reading list. For years, I’ve been intrigued by the possibility of a step-brother/step-sister relationship. I do know a couple who are stepbrother and stepsister. After they married his mother ended up marrying her father. A bit reverse of this story but it can happen!

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

