Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

Time FliesYep. Forgive my brashness, but I’m quoting myself.

You ever have one of those weeks where nothing goes right? When:

  • your dishwasher breaks
  • your daughter has a thousand dollars of repairs on her car only to have problems driving up to campus
  • your son’s schedule is messed up for the third semester in a row
  • your software apps are glitching
  • you discover the world’s largest hornet’s nest by your pool equipment and you have a debilitating fear of insects
  • you try to tackle your neglected to-do list only to discover everything is taking twice as much work as it should and thrice as much time?

You ever have a week like that?

I’m so behind, I hate for the week to be over already. I have too much to do. But I can’t afford any more problems, so I’m happy to be greeting the weekend. Optimism doesn’t come easy to me, and this week certainly is testing my resolve, but I’m working on it… I’m looking forward to a better week next week and trying to look at the bright side of this one.

Hoping you had a better week than I did, and wishing you a wonderful weekend.


And now, this week’s writing links:

Short Fiction/WP DP Challenge Links

Links to My Posts/Posts on Sites I’m Affiliated With

Once again, thanks for visiting. I hope you find these links entertaining and/or useful.

In the meantime, before you go, if you had a favorite story or post, please share. If the quote of the week spoke to you, well, share that, too. Feel free to weigh in on any of this content down below.

Enjoy your weekend!

26 thoughts on “Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

  1. Pingback: Writing Links…8/28/17 – Where Genres Collide

  2. Sorry you had such a crummy week, Staci! Knowing that those happen now and then does very little toward helping you get through it, I’m afraid. If it’s any consolation, I think last week was bad for a lot of folks. Maybe it’s the moon, or the planets aligning wrong. I had roof leaks and termites to deal with, and the backbreaking job of pulling up the bamboo flooring in our living room and dining room. This weekend, we have to find new flooring we can both agree on, and then we have to lay it. OMG. Just shoot me now. How am I supposed to get my book edited while all this is going on? I know. I’ll find a really good, really fast editor . . . 😀 😀 😀 And then I’ll try my best to cheer her up when her week goes all wrong!! Yep, I’ll get right on that cheering up part! Stay tuned.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel for you, Staci – that’s an aggravating list of things to happen. Would it make you feel better if I told you both sons are at college, hubby was out of town for the week, and I had to whole house to myself to write, read, or dance in my underwear whenever I felt like it? Didn’t think so. But it sure was nice!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Most of my weeks are partially like this. I’m typing this from my camper which is parked in my own yard. The flooring contractors didn’t finish yesterday like they predicted. Internet is sketchy, and I wanted to work on some interview posts. The save times are too much, so maybe another day.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Remodels are rough. Sorry to hear that. I’d say, “when it rains, it pours” but I don’t think the people in the path of Harvey would appreciate the comparison. I really feel for them.Ten years ago (or so) when (I think it was) Ivan hit, it came all the way up to Ohio, where we were living at the time. We had to go to a hotel because of flooding, and we lost power for a week. Came home to a nightmare in the fridge/freezer, as well as some property damage. And that was hundreds of miles inland. I can’t even imagine what the Gulf is about to experience.

      Liked by 1 person

    • After one of my fiction posts, you told me every writer who writes about death should experience decomp at least once. I’ve never done that, and I’m sure rotting produce and thawed out meat isn’t the same thing, but that smell does make an impact. And it lingers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I hate weeks when everything seems to go wrong and pile up. They’re certainly not productive for getting things accomplished. Fingers crossed that you have a fantastic weekend to make up for the Monday-Friday yuck!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It’s a cliché but the phrase First World Problems comes to mind. .. and I am not being smug, I’m the first person to go ranting round the house when the washing machine or computer goes wrong. Hope next week goes better.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Well, I just got back from the groomer, where my bigger dog slipped his collar at least 5 times. I need a shower now. I did buy a large iced coffee, though, and I’m sipping it now, so I guess this is about as close as I’ll come to sitting down with a friend over a cup today. Thanks for listening!

      Like

Your turn...

