Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

It goes on.So, this was a rough week. You may have noticed I wasn’t around much. This was the last week I had to spend with my daughter before she goes away to college. This separation is hard for me—I grew up with extended family everywhere, so I became used to always having people around. I like it that way. I thrive on it.

But because of employment opportunities, my husband and I left our hometown when our kids were just babies. For seventeen and a half years now, it’s just been us. And it’s been an adjustment. All these years later, I still feel lonely sometimes.

My son goes to college nearby, so I see him all the time. But my daughter is leaving. And I’m struggling with it. I can’t believe I’m not going to see her smiling face every day, listen to her rattle off a series of puns (each worse than the one before it), commiserate as she complains about this teacher or that subject. I won’t be watching her tennis matches or wondering if she had enough to eat and drink to stay healthy on the court. (Okay, I’ll still be worried about that.)

I thank God for the technology that will allow me to text and talk and see her on the screen. But it won’t be the same.

Smile.Combine her imminent departure with a death in the family, and it’s been a really hard week. That’s why I’m cheating and posting two quotes today. By two of my favorite authors. When I need to reconnect with our beautiful world, I turn to Robert Frost. And when I need a smile, I turn to Dr. Seuss. Today’s quotes aren’t about nature and aren’t remotely fun, but they were the words I needed to hear. I hope you enjoy them, too.


My apologies to those of you looking for my short stories. I haven’t been online much this week, so I didn’t do any fiction posts. But I expect to be back to my regular schedule next week, or close to it, anyway. In the meantime, here are the links to the posts on sites with which I’m affiliated:

Until next time…

23 thoughts on “Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

  1. Nothing I can say will ease the pain of saying “goodbye for now,” or the resulting separation anxiety. You just have to survive those the best way you can. But what I WILL tell you is there is no greater feeling in the world than seeing your children making their own lives. Watching them become the people they were meant to be, capable of handling important decisions and piloting their own course is the most wonderful feeling in the world.

    Once you’ve done all you can to prepare them for the road ahead, it’s time to stand back and watch what they do with it. And you’ll be amazed at how beautifully they handle the challenges in their own, unique style. Be proud, Mom! This is what you’ve been working toward all these years, and you are in for some of the happiest times of your life.

    (And don’t even get me started on grandchildren!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Writing Links 8/21/17 – Where Genres Collide

  3. I’m late to this post. Why it wasn’t in my reader, god knows. I know your subject was slightly sombre but I just loved reading you, your thoughts and your voice. I felt like we were having a chat. And those two quotes are among my most loved.
    It must be difficult with your precious girl going away. Bug hug from me and I do so like her as she loves puns, like me! You have a strong bond , I’m sure. Distance won’t diminish it, just fortify it.
    Lots of love X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Life definitely is an ongoing challenge, and an adventure we all need to travel. I feel your anxiety about your daughter taking off for college. After dropping off our oldest son for the first time, the long drive home felt so lonely. How could we leave our child behind on his own? Well, we all survived pretty well and now life has all sorts of new adventures with grandchildren. Embrace the ride.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss, Staci, but I’m also glad you had this week with your daughter. We moved my son in a week ago and he’s coming for dinner on Sunday night – first time we’ll see him in a week – even had to miss his 18th birthday because of band camp and obligations. I know what you mean about family – we’ve never been around family for long, but have made some wonderful friends here that we consider family. Sending hugs your way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • How lucky you are that he’s coming for a visit! Sammi leaves early Sunday morning. She wants to be at college in time to watch the Steeler game. (Gotta love that girl!) I’ll be having a glass or two (or more) of wine (not in the morning, obviously!). You know, to both toast her new adventure and wallow in my sadness. I’ll have one for you, too.

      Like

  6. I know you’ve had a horribly rough week. I’m fortunate that most of my family is within a few minutes of where I live. Technology makes things easier but it’s not quite the same. Cherish all the moments you have. Underneath the sadness of saying goodbye, I also know you are beaming with pride! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right on all counts, Mae. When I think about my grandparents coming to this country and leaving their families behind… I can’t even imagine. They never visited again, and I’m willing to bet no international phone calls were made. Handwritten letters became fewer and further between. I am lucky that I have tech to shrink the world. And I am very proud of her, and very excited for her. College is a great time of life. I know she’ll make the most of the opportunity.

      Thanks. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Separation is hard. I grew up having several extended family members nearby. In the late 80s, my brother and his family moved across the state, my mom passed away, as did other family members. It didn’t hit me until my cousins came to move an aunt closer to them. Although Dallas isn’t that far from me, when my cousin said, “Joan, you’re the last one left here,” I couldn’t believe it. Of course, now my brother, his oldest daughter, and her children are back in the area as is my husband’s family. Thinking of you during this time and I love both the quotes!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I remember whe my daughter left for college. It was bittersweet. I was excited for her and sad at the same time. We now live several states away and don’t see each other in person as often as we woul like, but technology sure helps.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The last time you posted about your baby girl, I posted about mine. Even though she’s an “old, married woman” of 25, I knew our time was growing short because that’s how the military works… and I was right. My son-in-law has to report to Fort Rucker in ALABAMA NEXT MONTH! I’m absolutely sick over it! Insert bucket of tears here

    She’ll be here early in the morning so we can goof off together again for the day. Then in a couple of weeks, instead of a Labor Day BBQ, I’ll be preparing the weirdest Thanksgiving dinner on record complete with turkey and dressing, chicken wings, and sushi! LOL!

    But, you’re right. At least we have better technology to stay in touch. And my kid doesn’t think anything of texting at 2 AM because she knows there’s a good chance I’m awake. LOL!

    And life goes on. Sigh We’ll get through this…just like our mothers did. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh, Felicia. I’m so sorry. We used to live near WPAFB, so I learned early on how painful the transient lifestyle of the military is. Now my niece and her husband are living it (she’s retired Navy and he’s currently in the Army). We’re at once proud, sad, and frightened. So I understand just how you feel. I’ll be praying for you all. Enjoy your holiday feast this Labor Day. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

Your turn...

