Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

lightningDid you ever use a thesaurus to come up with a better word? Stephen King says, “Any word you have to hunt for in a thesaurus is the wrong word. There are no exceptions to this rule.” Seems to me Mark Twain would disagree.

I don’t want the lightning bug. I want the lightning. My words could have a dim glow or they could light the world on fire. And I choose the latter.

This week, I did a lot of editing, and I tried to help my clients elevate their works and word choices to an electric level. And when I wrote? I tried to do the same for myself. Did I have to consult a thesaurus? A couple of times. And I’m okay with that.

I’d rather use a reference tool and have a character “dash” or “dart” than rely on my sometimes sluggish brain and have them “run very fast”. Call me crazy, but if a simple app can improve my craft, I’m going to use it. Sorry, Stephen.


And now, this week’s writing links:

Short Fiction/WP DP Challenge Links

Links to My Posts/Posts on Sites I’m Affiliated With

Once again, thanks for visiting. I hope you find these links entertaining and/or useful.

In the meantime, before you go, if you had a favorite story or post, tell us why. If the quote of the week spoke to you, we’d like to know. Feel free to weigh in on any of this content down below.

Enjoy your weekend!

31 thoughts on “Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

  1. When I have used the same word three times in a chapter, and can’t think of an alternate, I turn to the thesaurus and am immediately reminded there are at least seven other words that will do the same job, sometimes better, without being repetitive. It isn’t that I’m looking for a fancier, more erudite-sounding word, though I sometimes find one. It’s that I am falling back on the same word too many times, and there are other options I’ve ignored. Thanks to Roget, I’m reminded of what they are. I don’t see the problem, myself, and I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hear it’s a chronic condition among writers. Not Stephen King, I guess. But many of us. (Did you like how I included us in the same sentence as Stephen King? Now we can say we WERE mentioned in the same sentence as him. And I could have used a thesaurus to figure out how to say “same sentence” a different way to avoid a word echo, but I’m too pressed for time!)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like pulling tidbits from the masters. I don’t listen to any of them with blind devotion. I will use a thesaurus when needed and not feel bad about it. Everyone is picking up on the lightning, so I’m tempted to write the creepiest damned bug story I can dream up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you and Mark Twain–I want the lightning.

    I do think the more we write and practice our craft, the easier it is to conjure lightning on our own. But sometimes we draw a blank or our brains have slowed to a crawl. With all due respect to Mr. King, I will continue to consult a thesaurus as needed!

    Liked by 4 people

Your turn...

