Not Exactly Classic Symphony

Music and Humor MixI write a lot of serious and dark fiction on this site, so most of you probably think I’m fairly sober and have no measurable sense of humor (and if you watch The Big Bang Theory, you know a sense of humor can be measured; Sheldon’s done the math).

To you who think I’m dull and boring, well, you might be right. Even so, I still laugh a lot during the day. Mostly at myself, but also at the doglings, and often at things my kids say and do.

Case in point—today’s WP Daily Prompt is Symphony. I’ve actually played classical music in a symphonic band and earned an adjudication score of 5/5. I listen to classical music all the time. I can, within reason, discuss symphonic music, at least on a basic level. (See? I sound sober and humorless.)

So when I read the prompt, what came to mind? Two videos my kids have made me watch over and over. They sing right along with these songs now. It’s getting to the point that I can, too.

I guess kids these days don’t know how to amuse themselves like we used to, so they look for entertainment online. This is what they found, and I’m sharing it with you today. No, it’s not symphonic music—it doesn’t stir intense passions in me and leave me breathless or in tears. But it does stir intense feelings of love toward my kids, and it doesn’t get better than that. (Actually, sometimes we’re breathless from laughing and I’ve laughed so hard tears roll down my cheeks, so maybe these are more like symphonies than I originally thought… Nah.)

So, without further ado, I give you the two videos my kids make me watch. I hope you find them as funny as we do. (Although, I have to tell you, they get funnier the more you watch them.) I’m also going to include two bonus videos (also introduced to us from the kids). You’ll see why soon.

My son’s choice:

My daughter’s choice:

The Mom Song (the closest you’ll get to symphonic music here today):

And finally, The Dad Song:

I hope you liked these as much as we do. Here’s wishing you a happy day!


This post inspired by the WordPress daily prompt: Symphony.

22 thoughts on “Not Exactly Classic Symphony

  1. Pingback: Singer/Songwriter/Musician Interview – Vanessa Cardui (Multi-Instrumentalist, Rock, Folk, Celtic, Filk & Choral Music) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Those are a great selection of videos, like some of the readers have mentioned the duck song is playing continuously in my head too. Not looking forward fo the day when my children are older and I become that mom in the other video. Gulp😮😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links | Staci Troilo

  4. Great post, Staci – we may be related! 😀

    The Mom Song has been on my YouTube favorites list for years – even got MY mom hooked on it and she’s 82!. Seagulls and The Duck Song are favs of my daughter and youngest son…and they’re 25 and 27! LOL!

    Now I can’t get The Duck Song out of my mind – it’s going to be a long day! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: My Own Cello – TyroCharm

  6. My entertainment for the afternoon.
    They were all good, but my favorite was the Star Wars / Seagulls vid.
    The graphics on the Duck song were hysterical, especially the poor guy at the lemonade stand.
    Thanks for the fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

