Novel Excerpt from Body Armor

Body Armor

Body Armor, book 3 of the Medici Protectorate series, will be released soon. It’s been with the publisher for a while now, edits are done, and we’re just awaiting cover design and layout.

Today, I’m giving you a brief look at the burgeoning relationship between Dominico (Nico) Micelli and Donnatella (Donni) Notaro. Nico spends the novel fighting his attraction to the woman he’s sworn to protect, but sometimes chemistry is stronger than will.

·•◊♦◊•·

He tossed aside the compress and stretched. The rest had done him some good. When he noticed Donni staring at him, he looked down. Apparently they were now both acutely aware he was shirtless.

“I, uh… I brought your dagger back.” She handed it to him, her fingers brushing his and sending a tingling charge up his arm and through his body.

They stayed connected through his dagger, their fingers intertwining. “What else did you bring me?”

“Your shirt.” Her voice was barely above a whisper. She handed him the soft cotton, which he took with his free hand and tossed aside. Her gaze never broke contact with his. Now her eyes were hooded, darkened. Intense.

He didn’t know what had come over them, what game he was playing. All he knew was he desperately wanted to win. “Anything else?”

She leaned closer to him, and her gaze dropped from his eyes to his mouth. She licked her lips and inhaled deeply.

Nico bent toward her, their mouths nearly touching. He felt the heat of her breath on his face, noticed the flush bloom on her cheeks and chest. Instead of kissing her, he nuzzled her ear, noted the faint lemony scent of her shampoo. Then he spoke into her neck, letting his lips lightly graze her silken skin. “Anything at all. All you have to do is ask.”

She tipped her head back and sighed.

God, she was tempting.

·•◊♦◊•·

There you have it.I hope you enjoyed this quick look at Nico and Donni in Body Armor (more information on the novel can be found by clicking the link).

If you’re a fan of the series, you won’t have long to wait. And if you’re a romance, supernatural, suspense, or action fan, this novel will stand on its own, although reading the first two novels of the series will enhance your reading experience.

Whether you’ve read the series or not, I’d love to know your thoughts on this excerpt. Feel free to start a discussion below.


This post inspired by the WordPress daily prompt: Lust.

11 thoughts on “Novel Excerpt from Body Armor

  1. Pingback: Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links | Staci Troilo

  2. Aw, it’s hard to end a series, I bet. Haven’t done that, yet, but it won’t be too much longer for me, either. And I’m sure it will be sad. Heck, I can hardly stand to say goodbye to series I’m READING. I just finished Sebastien de Castell’s Greatcoat series, and I cried at the end. I wanted more Falcio, Kest, and Brasti. Forever! 😥 But I’m heading to Amazon to get Book 1 of The Medici Protectorate, and hopefully, I’ll be able to get started on it VERY soon! (And yay for excerpts, because without this one, I would still have been clueless as to which to begin with. You really should post another from this during Excerpt Week on TWS. I’m just sayin’ . . . ) 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gleeep. Urk. Gaaaaaaaa. Addled brain here. That was sexy!! I have been rendered nearly speechless, and I do believe I know which of your series I’ll be starting with. But maybe I need to be sure. Going back to re-read this excerpt

    Yep. It’s this one! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

