Book Review: Hacked by Sue Coletta

Hacked by Sue ColettaShawnee Daniels wrongly assumes she’s being punished for innocently hacking the Police Chief’s photos. Okay, maybe not-so-innocently, but someone had to expose him for the dog that he is. When she arrives at the mandatory computer seminar, the FBI enlists her help in stopping a serial killer who’s remotely hacking vehicles while the owners are behind the wheel.

Why he’s targeted these people remains a mystery. None of the victims frequent the same places, some don’t even live in the same state. The only commonality is they all drive Fords.

When Detective Levaughn Samuels is taken hostage—his life teetering on the edge of a high-speed chase—there’s nothing Shawnee won’t do to save him, no line she won’t cross. And when her BFF shows up unannounced with problems of her own, she only complicates matters.

Can Shawnee stop the killer before she loses the only man she’s ever loved? Or will the ride of his life end in death?

HACKED is a Mayhem Series crossover novella.

·•◊♦◊•·

4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Edge-of-Your-Seat Story, July 12, 2017

As a born-and-raised Western Pennsylvanian, I am always on the lookout for stories set in or around Pittsburgh. When I learned that Sue Coletta, a favorite writer of mine, penned a work set in my former home, I had to check it out. HACKED is part of the Mayhem series and is also a shared world crossover with Susan Stoker’s Special Forces Kindle World. While I’m unfamiliar with Stoker’s work, Coletta’s name and the Western PA setting were more than enough to suck me in.

I fell for the rough-around-the-edges computer hacker, Shawnee Daniels, in the first book of the series (WINGS OF MAYHEM). Shawnee is more than feisty and blunt, she’s a kind of modern-day, computer-version Robin Hood. She skirts the line between committing crimes and solving them, making her a fascinating character. Even more interesting is her love interest—Detective Levaughn Samuels, a stalwart and devoted member of the police force in Revere, Massachusetts. It was fun to visit with favored (and some not-so-favored) characters from the first book, as well as meet characters from Stoker’s series. I’m now intrigued about Tex and want to learn more about the complex and enigmatic Navy SEAL.

This plot moved at a crisp pace and ended with a bittersweet note that I won’t soon forget. I’d have loved to have seen more of my beloved city, but that’s just personal bias. Coletta’s writing hits the perfect blend of fright, desperation, despair, and hopefulness, hitting each feeling at all the right times and in all the right places. At the end of this tale, readers will only want more, and they’re in luck—her author note indicates another novel in this story world will be releasing in August.

Readers of crime fiction will enjoy this novella. I know I did.


If you’re interested in more information, visit Sue Coletta’s website for purchase, newsletter, and social media links.

24 thoughts on “Book Review: Hacked by Sue Coletta

  1. Pingback: Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links |

    • Well, I’m not going to suggest you rearrange your TBR list, because I’m not pushy that way. (At least, I hope people don’t think I am!) But I will say I really enjoy her work and usually bump her forward in my queue. Given you write horror, you’ll find some of her darker, scarier passages right up your alley. I highly recommend her.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m looking forward to reading this. It’s on my Kindle and my TBR. I fell behind with my reading lately, but I know I’m going to enjoy this. Shawnee Daniels is my favorite Coletta character. I loved her in Wings of Mayhem.

    Liked by 2 people

Your turn...

