Short Fiction: The Ultimate Act of Love

frying pan“I’m so glad you decided to come to my cabin with me.” Peter stoked the fire in the rustic stone fireplace and put a pan up to heat. “I’ve wanted this for so long. I can’t believe it’s finally time.”

Kerry made a soft sound he took to mean she was glad, too.

He stared into her eyes and smiled. “You know, I never noticed before. You’ve got lovely flecks of amber in the brown of your irises. They’re picking up the reflection of the flames. This must be what people mean when they say someone’s eyes are dancing.”

She closed her eyes, and he caressed her face. Then he turned his back to her and sharpened his knife, the grating of the blade against the stone a chilling sound in an otherwise quiet night. “That’s a horrible noise. It’s killing the mood. How about some music?” He scrolled through his phone. Soon the powerful strains of Bach’s “Toccata and Fugue” echoed through the small cabin.

Peter put hisΒ phone on the counter, picked up the knife, and checked the blade on the pad of his thumb. “I know I’ve made dinners and breakfasts for you before in the city—I do love to cook—but out here is my favorite place to prepare a meal. There’s something about the open flame, the cast iron skillet… the peaceful surroundings.”

He looked out the window at the moonlight filtering through the leafy canopy. “It’s gorgeous.” Then he turned to her. “As are you.”

A tear slipped down her face, and he caught the glistening drop with the tip of his finger. “It’s such a romantic night. I can understand how emotional you must be feeling. This is a momentous occasion for me, too.”

Kerry whimpered.

Peter closed his eyes and absorbed the sound into his soul. “You don’t know what you do to me. I can’t wait to have you. For us to join, become one. Our coupling will be the ultimate act of love.”

She moaned.

He opened his eyes. “I’m a fan of organ meat, so that’s what I thought we’d start with tonight.”

Peter lay her down, stared longingly at her naked, trembling form. When he sliced into her stomach, her screams penetrated the gag, her shrieks louder than the song he was enjoying.

“Don’t ruin this for me, Kerry.” He reached into her exposed cavity, yanked out her liver, and tossed it into the pan, the sizzle growing as her howls tapered off. “I plan to savor our night together.”


This story inspired by the WordPress Daily Prompt: Savor.

19 thoughts on “Short Fiction: The Ultimate Act of Love

  1. Pingback: The Outcast’s Bloghouse Wlecomes… Staci Troilo – Jessica Bakkers

    • Thanks, Mae. This was a fun combination for me (and I know how bad that sounds) mixing my romance-writing skills with a horror element. I hope it was successful. I know I enjoyed crafting it.

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

