This Just In

Local News“Now, in local news, we go on location to Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, where Lisa Scott is covering a breaking story. Lisa?”

“Thanks, Jerry. I’m standing here outside the Vandergrift Library, where hometown author Staci Troilo has barricaded herself inside. Witnesses say she’s throwing all the novels on the floor and crying hysterically about bestsellers lists.”

“Lisa, have the authorities been called?”

“No, Jerry. Just library volunteers to put the books back on the shelves. Apparently, author meltdowns are rather commonplace. Back to you, Jerry.”

“Well.” Jerry clears his throat and adjusts his tie. “Sorry about that, folks. It’s a slow news day, and we needed to fill our local timeslot. Now, let’s take a look at our forecast. Fred, how’s it looking out there?”


This story inspired by the WordPress daily prompt: Local.

19 thoughts on “This Just In

  1. Pingback: Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links |

    • Unfortunately, Susan, Vandergrift is my hometown but not where I live now. Although it will always be “home” in my heart, I’m now about a thousand miles away.

      My sister (another author), however, is still in the area. I’m sure she’d love to meet a fellow writer, if you’re interested.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t know what that is, so I know I’m not, and that makes me think she isn’t, either. Can I even be part of it if I’m not living there now? I want to look into that.

      And I’d love to help the two of you connect. If you want to take this discussion offline, send me an email. staci (at) stacitroilo (dot) com.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll be in touch, but I wanted to leave Pennwriters here for everyone: It began as Pennsylvania writers (founded by award-winner Nancy Martin), but has spread beyond. It’s a super group of writers of all ilk and abilities and experiences. I don’t even remember how many years now I’ve been a member, but it’s a great group of supportive people. Truly — that’s not a party line. I wouldn’t be a member still if it were.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Sounds like a group I’d love to be part of. Glad you shared. Thanks.

      I’ll keep an eye out for your email. This is going to be a busy few days for me, so I’ll only be checking email once or twice a day, but I promise I’ll get back to you.

      Liked by 2 people

Your turn...

