When He Needed Me, I Let Him Down

This isn’t really a story. It’s more of a character sketch/concept piece.


aggressive child punchingWhen he hid in his room, bruised and battered, I cried for him.

When he came home from school smiling, blood on his clothes, I wondered what happened.

When the school scheduled a conference to discuss his behavior, I ignored their concerns.

When he started going out, I thought he’d made friends, and I rejoiced that he’d finally blossomed.

When our neighbor couldn’t find her dog and my son walked away whistling, I was confused.

When the news broadcast the fifth in a series of violent murders, I wondered and worried.

And when my son came into my room, eyes gleaming, butcher knife clutched in his hand, I blamed myself.


Inspired by the WordPress Daily Prompt: BlossomΒ 

19 thoughts on “When He Needed Me, I Let Him Down

  1. muy lindo

    ________________________________ De: WordPress.com Enviado: sΓ‘bado, junio 17, 2017 8:24:12 AM Para: francozainsiribaldoniparron@outlook.com Asunto: [New post] When He Needed Me, I Let Him Down

    Staci Troilo posted: “This isn’t really a story. It’s more of a character sketch/concept piece. When he hid in his room, bruised and battered, I cried for him. When he came home from school smiling, blood on his clothes, I wondered what happened. When the school s”

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

