Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

Here we are, another week behind us. I sure hope you had a productive one.

Don't be 'a writer'. Be writing.This week, my enemy was time. I didn’t just take Memorial Day off; I took the whole three-day weekend. It put me behind, but I needed to recharge. Which I’m happy to say I (kind of) did.

But obligations sneak in that we don’t expect, and the best-laid plans go to Hades in a handbasket.

This week, I was a writer, but I wasn’t writing very much. And I hate weeks like this. Not only because deadlines are looming and stress is mounting, but because I’m a writer—I feel joy when I take the thoughts in my head and heart and transcribe them into words that mean something to others.

I won’t go so far as to say my work is my legacy. I firmly believe my kids hold that title. Exclusively. But if my words matter to even one person, then I’ve left a mark on the world. And that means something to me.

That also means when I have a low-production week, I feel it. Tangibly. Viscerally. Not writing doesn’t just hurt my production levels; it hurts me.

So, I’ll strive to be better next week. Can’t look back. Always look forward with hope. Next week, I won’t just be a writer. I’ll be writing.

Okay. Now that the motivational portion of the post is over, I have your list of links for the week. Here are the five posts I wrote, or my peers wrote on sites I contribute to. Please visit and leave a comment. (All writers love to discuss things. Especially when we can write our answers!)

Writing Links

Organized links. Get it? LOL

  • Monday at Story Empire, Mae Clair wrote a stirring post about Memorial Day. You can find it here.
    And I had a bonus post this week, also about Memorial Day. You can read it here.
  • Tuesday I wrote a post about westerns and my short frontier tale “Valuable Treasures” which ties into the Medici Protectorate series. You can find that post here.
  • Wednesday at Story Empire was a weight off my shoulders. I finished my four-part series on media kits. You can find that post and a sample media kit by clicking here.
  • Thursday at AIW Press, I wrote about the benefits of contributing to a short story anthology. You can see those tips here.
  • Friday’s Story Empire post is another curated writing content post. Links to valuable industry information around the web have been compiled for you. Find those links here.

I hope you enjoy those posts. In the meantime, wishing you a restful and wonderful weekend. Until next week…

Staci

18 thoughts on “Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

  1. Catching up from vacation. I feel the same way about last week – didn’t get much writing done, even though I got up early every morning to do it. But I did get an idea I can run with for the anthology – so that’s something, I guess. Big plans for this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you accomplished a lot despite your lack of writing! I’ve noticed that my word count ebbs and flows. I have a daily minimum (for days when I’m writing, not planning/plotting) but some days (or even weeks!) it has to be okay not hit the numbers. Rest and breaks are important, especially when we have a lot of other things going on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I’ve been ebbing more than flowing lately. But you’re right about the fluctuation in productivity. I’m trying not to let the slower days get me down.

      So nice to have you visit, Stacy!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can sympathize about time being the enemy this week. Usually for me it’s technology, but time was the big winner this past week. And I LOVE the organized links! I actually laughed out loud. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s the second time I used that graphic, and I think I’m going to stick with it. My daughter loves puns, and it reminds me of her. (Plus, it’s a good visual indicator that the topic on the blog is switching from the week in review to the links I’ve got.) I’m so glad you thought it was funny, too.

      And don’t get me started on technology, Nancy. We have a love/hate relationship. And I’m usually the one on the short end of that stick.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Staci,I was on here reading military advert,I got interested on your awesome blogs,I really want to communicate with you,This my Email:Terry444u@gmail.com look forward to talk to you

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your interest, Terry. If you click the “visit my website” button in the menu, you’ll go to my main site where you’ll find a contact form. Just fill it out and submit it and you’ll be in direct (private) contact with me.

      Like

    • I feel guilty when I take time off. I shouldn’t (because sometimes it’s necessary), but I do. I totally understand where you’re coming from. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Randi. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • One thing that has helped me keep up the habit, even on crazy days, is a daily minimum of 50 words. That’s something I can do scribbling on a scrap of paper over lunch, or on the way somewhere. Romance Writers of America gave me the idea, and it has worked wonders.

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great, Randi. I have a daily target of 4,000 words, but some days it’s hard. And weeks like this, when I’m in edit-mode, it’s impossible! But I bet I could do 50 even then.

      Like

  4. I enjoyed all of your posts this week! I’m actually working on going back and reading all the author media kit posts – they were incredibly insightful and gave me tools I didn’t previously have as an author.

    I’m glad you recharged (kind of) and I know when next week rolls around I, too, will strive to be ‘writing’ instead of just being ‘a writer’. What a wonderful wind down to your week!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love your comment “Next week, I wonโ€™t just be a writer. Iโ€™ll be writing.” That’s my goal too.

    We need time to recharge so we can tackle projects fresh. Fingers crossed we’re both exceptionally prolific!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do believe that everyone (regardless of vocation) needs to recharge once in a while. I think maybe I took too much time. Or took it at the wrong time. All the good I did resting I’ve already undone with catch-up efforts. And the stress won’t be lessening anytime soon. (Maybe once my daughter’s grad party is past?)

      I’m crossing my fingers right along with you, Mae! Thanks for commenting, and best wishes to both of us!

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

