Judging a book by… well, you know.

SOUSE

When I was a young girl, I remember looking at food I didn’t want to try (like pickled pigs feet or souse, for example) and my grandparents telling me not to judge a book by its cover.

I’ll admit, even book covers designed by amateurs don’t look as bad as souse.  If they do, well, then there’s a serious problem.

As a writer, I like to think my work should stand on its own merit and not on the quality of the cover people see before the content. Yet these days, competition is so fierce and attention spans so short, graphic design is often the first criterion used to reject a novel.

Is that fair?

Today, at AIW Press, Joan Hall takes a look at book covers and how they determine whether a book will be read. You can check out her take here.


Picture of Souse originally uploaded by Rainer Zenz at German Wikipedia (Transferred from de.wikipedia to Commons.) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

19 thoughts on “Judging a book by… well, you know.

Your turn...

