Do you know who you are?

writing ambianceIt wasn’t so long ago where a novelist spent all day (for weeks and months at a time) isolated in a room, office, or designated “away” space (like a hotel or cabin) to do nothing but write. When I was younger, I glamorized the profession as I imagined being part of it.

The sandalwood candles burned low, their wicks swimming in a pool of melted wax. I sipped on the glass of merlot I’d poured earlier and stared into the fireplace, the logs popping cheerfully and flames flickering an amorphous pattern, bathing the corner of the room in a warm glow. Strains of Vivaldi danced through the room, inspiring my muse, who then roused my passion for the tale. The words flowed from my head through my fingers, marring the pristine white page with the angst of my characters. I wrote, “The End,” with a flourish and added the last page to the towering pile.

Ugh. Talk about purple prose. That kind of writing is as out of style as being an isolated writer is. Gone are the days where authors hid away from the world and poured their souls into their work for a year.

No. Now we pour our souls much faster, and we don’t get to hide. We have platforms to maintain and marketing to do. (Well, maybe not Nora Roberts, Stephen King, or James Patterson, but the rest of us can’t afford to be so isolated from society.)

Are you struggling to rectify your introvert tendencies with the need to be a social butterfly? Do you wonder who you are? What you should be doing?

Ponder these things no more. Today at Story Empire, Mae Clair discusses personality types (what they mean and how the breakdown occurs), and she offers a link to take a test and receive your own assessment. Check it out here.

16 thoughts on “Do you know who you are?

  1. Staci, thanks for sharing my post today. I glamorized the writing profession when I was younger too. Amazing the difference between what I thought it would be like and what it is. And still, I’d never trade it—despite all the social media/branding/platform building that (even introverted) writers have to do!

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

