#FridayBookShare of Harmony Kent’s THE GLADE

Today I’m playing Shelley Wilson’s game: Friday Book Share. It’s fun and easy. Just take a book you’re reading and fill in the following blanks.

  • Friday Book ShareFirst line of the book.
  • Recruit fans by adding the book blurb.
  • Introduce the main character using only three words.
  • Delightful design (add the cover image of the book).
  • Audience appeal (who would enjoy reading this book?)
  • Your favorite line/scene.

This game is designed to introduce new books/authors to new readers. Make sure you use the hashtag when you share (#FridayBookShare), then search the hashtag and visit those sites and share those posts.

Today I’ve chosen to spotlight a book I just finished—The Glade by Harmony Kent.


First Line.
“Mrs Wenstrop, I am arresting you for the murder of your husband.”

Recruit fans by adding the book blurb. 
This gripping, edge-of-your-seat mystery/thriller will have you thinking twice about booking that idyllic cottage in the country. Nothing in this woodland paradise within the Forest of Dean is what it seems.

The Wenstrops have it all—health, wealth, and happiness. Until everything falls apart. Helen gets arrested for murder, and yet is either unable or unwilling to give a defense. During her detention, vital evidence goes missing and tensions run high.

Meanwhile, in the woods, malignant forces gather power.

Introduce the main character using only three words.
Tortured. Love-starved. Paranoid.

Delightful design (add the cover image of the book).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Audience appeal (who would enjoy reading this book?)
Horror fans.

Your favorite line/scene. (I don’t want to print a spoiler or reveal too much, so just a little taste here and nothing more.)
The thing seemed to shimmer before her eyes, and almost dissolved into something else.  But then it solidified once more, seemingly content to remain as it was, despite her having seen through its camouflage.  Still it simply stood there, and watched them, unspeaking.  It glared.  Red eyed.


So that’s a #FridayBookShare breakdown of Harmony Kent’s The Glade. For more information, you can read my review of it by clicking here.

Is this a story that appeals to you? Let’s talk about it.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. tpolen says:

    I’m liking the sound of this one. And I agree – I’d like to get Friday Book Share going again – someone let me know.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      Yeah, I thought the Friday Book Share was fun. Even if she doesn’t want to do it anymore, I’d love to keep it going.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this with us, Staci!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      You know me, I love to help promote authors. Glad to share!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. harmonykentonline says:

    I love this, Staci! Thank you so much 🙂 And what a great idea; I’ll have to do the Friday book-share myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      It was a great book, Harmony. And I can’t believe you did the cover yourself. It’s awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan Hall says:

    I’ll have to put this book on my reading list. Compelling opening.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. harmonykentonline says:

      Thank you, Joan! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mae Clair says:

    Great pick on your favorite part/line, Staci. I’ve read this one and Harmony grabs the reader right away at the opening (a kick-butt opening line). I think Shelly has stopped doing Friday book share :(, but I’m still going to share Friday reads now and again. It’s too much fun not to!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      I hope she starts doing them again. If not, I’ll be carrying on with you. They’re fun to do, and a lot more interesting than the “here’s my review of…” posts. I mean, I’ve written those posts, but I think this is better.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Joan Hall says:

        I’d like to participate also. Count me in if you all do this again.

        Liked by 3 people

      2. Mae Clair says:

        I’d like to get it going again too. I don’t post reviews on my blog, but I like sharing books. And with Friday Book Share it can be a book you’re currently reading, one you’ve just finished, or one you read a while ago.

        Liked by 3 people

      3. Staci Troilo says:

        I’m all for carrying on the tradition, with or without her. It’s a fun way to introduce a book without a standard review. Makes it feel fresh.

        Liked by 3 people

    2. harmonykentonline says:

      Thanks, Mae! I love the idea of a Friday book share, and will have to do some myself 🙂 So much more fun than a straight up review 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Mae Clair says:

        I agree completely. I love seeing what others are reading.

        Liked by 2 people

  6. That was fun. Thanks for the book intro. The cover is great. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      I couldn’t agree more. The cover caught my eye and was so appealing, I had to look more closely at it. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. harmonykentonline says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment. So thrilled you like the book cover; I had great fun designing this one 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I didn’t realize that you did the cover. Well done!

        Liked by 2 people

I love chatting with friends. Leave a comment and let's talk.

