What I’m Thankful For

thanksgivingWhen I was young, I hated Thanksgiving. I mean, I loved the time off school, but I felt like I was celebrating a huge deception. The Native Americans saved the European colonists, and in exchange, we took everything from them.

Truth be told, it still bothers me.

But as I grow older, I grow more nostalgic, and with that feeling comes warm memories. I think back to the wonderful meals shared with my large, extended family. I think about Black Friday shopping trips (which I’ve since sworn off forever). I think about the marathon Christmas cookie baking session the women in my family would embark on together that Saturday. I think about the gifts to my children (always an ornament for their trees) and decorating the house for Christmas before school started back up.

Sure, I could dwell on the negatives, but why bother? I can’t change any of it. None of it was even my fault or responsibility. And honestly, I’m too old to wallow in sadness when I consider how few joyous occasions I may have left. I mean, I’m not at death’s door (at least, I hope not), but middle age has made me reassess a few things. Not the least of which is my attitude.

Thanksgiving 2016This year, a young man from Peru joined us for Thanksgiving. It was the first time I hosted a non-family member for a holiday. And it was his first Thanksgiving ever—talk about pressure! I wanted to be sure he had a wonderful time, and I obsessed over the house, the décor, the menu.

Silly, really, when you think about it. He had nothing to compare it to, and he was just glad to have something to do for his college break and spend the time with a friend or two.

Long story short, we all had a great time. The stress was totally unwarranted.

Which brings me to my point.

The year may not have gone the way you wanted. I know my year didn’t. But regardless, I’m grateful. I’m grateful for my family, and I love them beyond measure. I’m thankful for my friends, especially because they put up with me through thick and thin. I’m grateful for my publisher, who got more of my work released this year than ever before. And I’m grateful to you, for sharing even a few moments of your day with me now and again when I manage to get a post published.

So, other than any marketing announcements that need to go out before the new year (I may have one or two, wink-wink), I think I’m about done with posts for 2016. It’s been my profound pleasure, and I look forward to seeing you in 2017. Happy holidays!

16 thoughts on “What I’m Thankful For

  1. A beautiful post, Staci. I too am thankful for my family and friends, and the many blessings the Lord has bestowed upon me. I tend to turn into a sap around the holidays, especially as I age and look back on all those warm memories of holidays past.

    That’s a great picture, BTW. It looks like you had a fabulous Thanksgiving. May your Christmas holiday and New Years be every bit as bright. I love how we’ve connected this year and I look forward to a fabulous 2017 for all!

    Liked by 2 people

    • We did have a wonderful holiday. (Too much food, as always.) I’m truly blessed.

      I, too, am a total sucker for the holiday season. I’m mushy and emotional from Halloween on (and that’s saying something, because I’m pretty soft all year long, anyway). I cry at holiday movies. Heck, I cry during some of those holiday commercials! But this time of year makes me reflect and treasure the people, places, and things that matter most to me. And I definitely count you among them. I’m really grateful for the friendship we’ve forged. I’m sure we’ll talk before the new year, but wishing you a wonderful holiday, too.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Of course, Charlie Brown! Wouldn’t be a tearful Christmas without it. Or It’s a Wonderful Life.

      And then there are the commercials. The snowmen giving their carrot noses to the Wells Fargo horses. And the guy in the coffee commercial who comes home from far away and tells his sister she was his present. Don’t get me started!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Well, something else we have in common. I’m a sap during the holidays and yes, looking back at past holidays and memories makes me tear up. I’ve even cried while watching Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer so you can imagine.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I’m a HUGE Dickens fan. I love A Christmas Carol. (Sammi’s boyfriend is playing Jacob Marley in the university’s production this year.)

      I also love A Year Without a Santa Claus. Those Miser brothers get me every time!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m thankful for you too, Staci! Looks like you had a wonderful time (and lots of delicious food.) I see even Casey and Max got in the picture. 🙂 I too struggle with how we treated the Native Americans, but I’m also thankful for my country, in spite of its faults.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Joan. 🙂

      That is a difficult topic, isn’t it? I’m the Queen of Guilt, but it usually is for something I had at least a partial hand in. My ancestors didn’t come here until the early 1900s, so I’m pretty sure we weren’t involved. It’s still a tragic situation, though. But you raise a great point… for all this country’s faults (and there are many), I’m truly grateful for our freedoms and those who have fought to secure them. Politics aside, I love our country, and I’m proud to live here.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I’m a firm believer in preserving our history. If we don’t know what mistakes were made in the past, we’re doomed to repeat them. My family has been here since the 1700s and I had an ancestor who found in the Revolutionary War, so who knows?

      Liked by 2 people

Your turn...

