Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Oktoberfest

Beer Car; Oktoberfest Parade

I’m part German. I know that probably surprises you, given I constantly blather on and on about my Italian roots. (As an aside, I did write a novella about Irish-Americans, given I’m part Irish, too—on my dad’s side. I’m a veritable melting pot because of him.) So, other than October 12 when we go hardcore Italian in honor of Columbus Day, you can imagine that Oktoberfest is near and dear to our hearts.

This year, Germany celebrated Oktoberfest from September 16 through October 3.

In my house, we’re celebrating straight through Halloween. That means schnitzels and strudels and sausages and sauerkrauts for a couple more weeks.

And because I’m a writer, I’m celebrating Oktoberfic, too.

What is Oktoberfic, you ask? Okay, I admit it, I made the word up. (But I’m allowed; it’s called poetic license 😉 .) Oktoberfic is a celebration of all things horror/suspense/mystery with respect to fiction.

The horror genre is characterized by work that induces fright, possibly with the result of shock or repulsion. It can be supernatural in nature, or completely realistic. One of my favorite scary movies of all time is The Exorcist. I prefer a demonic possession film to a slasher movie (although I will watch those, too). Because of my paranormal fixation, I wrote a horror story this year. It’s called “The All Souls’ Ritual” and is a standalone prequel to the Cathedral Lake series. You can read it (as well as 9 other eerie stories) by downloading Macabre Sanctuary. It’s an anthology perfect for Oktoberfic, and it’s totally FREE for your reading pleasure.

The All Souls Ritual


Love Set in StoneIf horror is a bit too much for you and you prefer the suspense/thriller genre (characterized by the build-up of tension and action rather than reaction), I have something for you, too. Let me recommend Love Set in Stone or Mind Control (book 2 of the Medici Protectorate series) which are paranormal romances with nefarious villains bent on destroying the protagonists. As a bonus to you, Love Set in Stone is going to be on sale the last week of the month, so grab your copy then for a true bargain! And if you’re really looking for a bargain, check out the boxed set Paranormal Attractions, where you can find me and eight other authors with paranormal romances.

Love Set in Stone

Mind Control


Mystery HeirThe final genre celebrated in Oktoberfic is the mystery. Mysteries are characterized by a professional or an amateur investigator discovering clues to solve a crime, often a murder or series of murders (although other crimes are also possible). I’ve never written a hardcore mystery novel, but I have written a cozy mystery you might like. It combines elements of a standard mystery without much gore or foul language. It also incorporates elements of humor to lighten the tension. In my case, I’m talking about Mystery Heir, a cozy mystery that starts during an Oktoberfest celebration and involves two twins (amateur sleuths) who investigate a murder, a series of break-ins, and a kidnapping.

Mystery Heir


I have a few other offerings that might appeal to you, too. Feel free to browse the complete listings of my work on my site for something that appeals to you.

Story EmpireFinally, let me recommend one more option for you this Oktoberfic. The authors at Story Empire (of which I’m proud to be a founding member) are hosting a giveaway to their readers. Visit the Paranormal Bar & Grille page to follow links for 5 scavenger hunts. After completing them, you will be eligible to win various Amazon gift cards or eBooks. If you participate in the Rafflecopter giveaway, you might win a $30 Amazon gift card. And if you visit that page on Halloween? You can enter the Goddess Fish promo for a chance to win a $50 Amazon gift card. That’s a whole lot of prizes, and the scavenger hunts are fun, too. Nothing to be scared of, there!

Paranormal Bar & Grille


One Special Reminder:

Join me for RRBC Rave Waves BlogTalk Radio Spotlight Honors on Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 11:00 Central Time. I’ll be talking about Type and Cross, book one of the Cathedral Lake series. If there’s time, we may get into the prequel short story in Macabre Sanctuary or discuss Pride and Fall, book three of the series coming out before Christmas.

I hope you enjoyed this look at Oktoberfic. German or not, there are loads of ways for you to celebrate eerie fiction throughout the month. Do you have a favorite spooky story, TV show, or movie that you never miss this time of year? Tell us what it is and why you love it. Leave a comment below.

And Happy Oktoberfic!

