Not Your Granddaddy’s Westerns

Last week, AIW Press released a short story anthology called Unshod. Its tagline? “Not your granddaddy’s westerns.” That’s probably pretty apt. I remember visiting my grandparents on Sunday evenings. If football or baseball wasn’t on, a western was, and as much as I loved my grandfather, I hated his choice of television entertainment. Spaghetti Westerns might have been created by an Italian, but it was one part of my heritage I was content not to embrace.

Skip ahead to 2016, and I’m writing a western for publication. Bet my grandfather got a good chuckle out of that up in Heaven. He probably elbowed John Wayne and said, “That’s my influence on her.” And he’s probably right. In some respects, anyway. I didn’t care for westerns much, but I did enjoy reading with him, and that’s at least partially where my love of writing came from.

My story for this anthology stayed true to my interests. Sweeping vistas. Romantic entanglements. Mysterious mythologies. Sarcastic banter. But, yeah, I wrote a western. And I’m darn proud of it. It’s not my granddaddy’s western, but I think he’d like it, anyway.

I and eight other women wrote tales either traditionally western or contemporary in flavor. But they are 2016 westerns. I’m honored to be included in this anthology, and I hope you give it a look. It’s available free at many eRetailers, and it hit the bestsellers’ lists in the first 24 hours of its release, so I guess a lot of people are enjoying it. I know I loved the stories in the anthology.

A shout out to the talented authors who join me in Unshod. Please give their sites a visit:

Jan Morrill
Pamela Foster
Joan Hall
P.C. Zick
Janna Hill
Michele Jones
Francis Guenette
Lorna Faith

You can download Unshod here:

Amazon | B&NiBooks | Kobo | Inktera | Scribd | 24 Symbols

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Mae Clair says:

    LOL! No worries! I read your story last night and really enjoyed it. I’ve read a lot on Native American Culture and history….from Crazy Horse to Little Bighorn, to Wounded Knee and the Ghost Dance Rebellion of the 1890s. So much of interest there. And I used to gobble up Tony Hillerman novels on a regular basis.

    You did a great job in weaving in the paranormal twist.

    Right now I’m 3/4 of the way through Joan’s story and loving that one too. This is really an exceptional anthology!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the anthology. I think of everything I’ve read of Joan’s, this was my favorite. (Funny, for a girl who claims to not like westerns. But this isn’t a traditional western…) Anyway, glad you liked mine. Glad you’re liking all of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Hall says:

    What, no Spaghetti western with Clint Eastwood? J/K. Yes, I can imagine your granddad and John Wayne. I really enjoyed your story (I liked all of them) but I’m very interested in American Indian folklore. Happy to have been a part of this collection.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      No, no Spaghetti Westerns for me. I knew you and I would finally find something we didn’t agree on! I’m glad you enjoyed my story, though. Even though westerns weren’t my thing, I always had a fascination with American Indian culture. So maybe there is a little bit of the western genre in me…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joan Hall says:

        I can’t imagine writing a historical western, but I do love the west. The wide open spaces, cool nights on the high desert, the food and the culture of the Southwest. And of course, the most amazing moons! But you couldn’t have guessed that from my story, LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Staci, I enjoyed reading all the stories. The modern take on the western theme was a fresh surprise. I was happy to be a part of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      Me, too, Michele. Me, too.

      Like

  4. Staci Troilo says:

    With nine stories, I’m not surprised you didn’t get through them all! I’m glad you enjoyed the ones you read so far. That’s my favorite part of anthologies… finding new new authors you might like. Thanks, Mae.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mae Clair says:

    I started reading it late last night. Because of the hour I only read the first two stories so far, but I really enjoyed them both. So polished, and with interesting twists. I know I’m going to enjoy the whole collection and will leave a review on Amazon when I’m through.

    I was always a fan of the Old West. Something about that time intrigues me. I spent many of my younger years writing western fic. I’ve also read a lot of non-fiction about the people who populated it….mostly related to the Plains Indian War era.

    Congrats to you and all the authors on the release!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      Serves me right for commenting on my phone. The earlier reply was supposed to be directly to you. Sigh. Anyway, I hope you enjoy the rest of the book, Mae.

      Liked by 1 person

I love chatting with friends. Leave a comment and let's talk.

