Two Mythologies, One Post

As you know by now, Love Set in Stone deals with the mythology of the gargoyle—the stone creature who perches on the tops of buildings and watches over humanity, scaring away evil and protecting the innocent from any harms that might come their way.

But there is another mythology referenced in my novel, one that maybe only residents of Western Pennsylvania are familiar with. (For more information, read this article.)

The Monongahela Monster.

We heard the stories as kids.

Timmy just wanted to go for an inner-tube ride. But he fell out. There were all these bubbles. Then this thing came out of the water. Ain’t never seen anything like it before. We hollered for Timmy to swim for it, and he tried, but that thing was on top of him before you could say Myron Cope. Sucked him right under. All that was left was his Terrible Towel…

I don’t know if people told us those stories to keep us out of the river or because they really saw scary things down in the river. There are folks that swear there are huge beasts by the bridge supports. And the Monongahela Monster legends are popular in Western PA. But for every one person who believes in the monster, twenty will tell you…

It’s just giant catfish.

Me? I’ve never seen either the monster or catfish in the river. Damien swims in the river all the time, though. He knows what’s down there. If you want to know his take on it, he might mention it in the novel. 😉

What about you guys? Do you believe in cryptozoology? Or are there rational explanations for the outrageous things people think they see? Let’s talk about it.


Oh, and on a completely unrelated note, today is my grandmother’s 98th birthday. Just wanted to say, “Happiest Birthday, Grandma! Hope it’s a wonderful one! Love you!”

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Im a believer Staci, maybe too many fantasy novels as a child but I live in hope that many of the made up stories are real. Sorry have not been able to keep up with reading all my favourite people. Hope you are well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      We’ve all been busy, but I have missed hearing from you. I’m glad to know you’re well, Kath. (And I’m glad to know you’re a believer!)

      Like

  2. Joan says:

    A very happy birthday to your Grandmother!

    I’m on the fence with cryptozoology. While I don’t believe in Sasquatch or many of the other “so called” creatures people see, I do believe things happen that can’t be explained. In Texas, we have what is called a Chupacabra (or goatsucker). The origin is from Peurto Rico, which is more of a lizard-like creature that walks upright. However, the ones here are more canine in description and some have been spotted. Most people think its a coyote with mange or some type of mutated coyote.

    When I was around ten, my mother and I saw a big black cat (panther) but supposedly they don’t range into this area. Believe me, this wasn’t a house cat!

    While I think some people fabricate tales (maybe for their 15 minutes of fame), there are others who truly believe they’ve seen strange sightings. Whatever the case, it makes for interesting stories!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      My grandmother had a lovely birthday, thanks.

      I think most of the things people see are a combination of their nerves and their imaginations (and possibly their desire for fame), but I don’t discount that the strange is out there. I do think it’s a lot more fun to let fantasy run with it, though, than to ever prove or disprove what things really are. That’s probably why I’m a fiction writer. 😀 Thanks for commenting, Joan.

      Like

      1. Mae Clair says:

        I remember doing a Mythical Monday post on my blog in the past about the Chupacabra. Fascinating legend! I think there’s enough possibility in the “maybe” that certain creatures could exist. How cool that you and your mom saw a black panther, Joan!

        A friend of mine recently moved to West Virginia in a very mountainous wooded area. She was telling me about all of the wildlife she gets to see from her yard (her house is way up on a hill) and in the same process tossed in that her husband had seen a black panther–then started talking about the wild turkeys in her yard in the same breath. She didn’t even realize that black panthers are creatures of folklore!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Mae Clair says:

    Happy birthday to your grandmother! 😀

    As for cryptozoology, I’m a huge fan (you probably figured that out by now, LOL). Do I believe all those tales? Nope. But do I believe people think they saw “something?” Most definitely.

    I grew up near the Susquehanna River and there were always tales of things under the water,especially near the bridge supports. Nothing specific, just that there was scary stuff down there. I remember swimming in the river as a kid but I stayed away from the bridges.

    This is a great post, Staci. I love thinking about the “what ifs” of cryptozoology. I think that’s what makes those mysteries so interesting…the idea that maybe, just maybe…

    If they ever found the Lochness Monster, I’d be horribly disappointed. I prefer the old legends over reality. Maybe that’s why I clicked so much with Damien’s story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      On behalf of my grandmother, thank you. I know for a fact her cake is delicious (it’s one of my favorites) and I know she’d love sharing a piece with you.

      As for the creepy-crawlies under the water (or swishy-swimmies, I guess), I’m with you. I love imagining what might be there, and I think I’d be disappointed if anything was ever definitely proven. The legends are infinitely more fun. But just in case, stay away from the bridge supports. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Joan says:

      I agree. I love to imagine the “what ifs.” i saw something strange a few nights ago on the night of the full moon. (Wouldn’t you know?). Thought it was a dog, but it sure dissappeared fast. Maybe a chupacabra or a phantom dog. Sort of left me with a creepy feeling.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Staci Troilo says:

        My money is on chupacabra! I’m glad you’re safe. Definitely creepy. {shudders}

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved reading your post about the river monster. I am of the mindset old tale to keep you out of the water. Maybe Damien will let us know.
    Happy birthday, Grandma.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      I guess we’ll just have to ask Damien! Thanks for commenting, Michele.

      Liked by 1 person

I love chatting with friends. Leave a comment and let's talk.

