I Blew Out My Candles And This Happened…

birthday cake
This says, “Mom, Happy Birthday!” What can I say? She tried.

If you get my newsletter, you already know this. (And if you don’t get my newsletter, why don’t you? Sign up here.) Yesterday was my birthday. I share a birthday with Robert Downey Jr. Every year when I blow out my candles, the wish goes something like this…

I close my eyes, wish that someone with Hollywood connections and six degrees of separation to Kevin Bacon works their magic, contacts Kevin Bacon, who then contacts RDJ’s agent, who calls the man himself, who then feels generous and calls me. After the obligatory, “No, it’s really me,” part of the conversation, he insists on Facetime, and then I’m mortified, because my hair is up in a clip, I have no makeup on, and I’m wearing baggie jammie pants and a stained but oh-so-soft-and-comfortable t-shirt. (What do you expect? I’m a writer.)

RDJ is gracious, of course, and says I look great for (coughing fit over my age). We talk about his ridiculous body of work which leads to my modest and meager one, which he feigns an interest in. Then, lo and behold, he asks me to send him a book. Even wants one autographed. We chat a little while longer, he blows me a kiss through the phone, and we hang up. My husband isn’t jealous because, one, like RDJ would leave his wife for me, and two, like I’d leave my husband for anyone, and three, it was just a blown kiss over a phone. Besides, it wasn’t the kiss that had me freaking out. It was the book. What should I write to him? And how cool that he asked for a book, right?

After agonizing forever over it, I wrote a pithy little note and sent the book off. Then I forgot all about it. I mean, come on. It was a huge moment in my life, but hardly a blip on RDJ’s radar, right?

WRONG.

He—not his agent, but the man himself—calls me a week later. He got the book, read it in one day, and loved it. He wants to make it into a movie AND star in it.

Well, once I came to, I of course said yes. Birthday wishes do come true.


And yes, that is my wish every year. And no, it has never come close to coming true. Which is why I have no problems sharing it with you. I’m clearly in no danger of jinxing my wish by sharing it.

But I did have a wonderful birthday. Lots of wonderful wishes from family and friends, near and far. One of my friends even found a picture from long, long ago and shared it with the world. (You can see it at the end of the post if you’re interested in viewing my junior high days. I tried to embed a Facebook link, but apparently I’m the only person on the planet incapable of doing so.) My daughter cooked me dinner and decorated me a cake. (See above for the results of that.) And I had a new book release, Love Set in Stone. If you like romance, suspense, intrigue, action, Pittsburgh (who doesn’t?), gargoyles, angels,  sarcastic banter, and/or strong relationships, you might want to check this one out.

Available now: Amazon |B&N | Kobo | Inktera | Scribd
Coming soon: iBooks | 24 Symbols | Tolino | Paperback

Okay, well, that was my yesterday. How was yours? Let’s chat. In the meantime, I’ll end with the aforementioned junior high photo. My daughter laughed and said I look like one of the Pink Ladies from Grease. I don’t know about that, but I do look different. Yes, it was the 1980s (not the 1950s despite what my daughter thought), and no, I won’t reveal the identities of the ladies who were with me. (I always protect the innocent.) I’m the one on the right. Wow, we thought we were sooooo cool. I’m not really sure what we were thinking with those haircuts and flipped collars, though.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Your Kid says:

    I’m actually good at decorating cakes. That was an unfortunate mishap, reminiscent of your pineapple-in-the-middle-of-the-cake or grams cream puffs. What can I say, I’m definitely a Troilo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      Why must you always bring up the one misfortune rather than the many successes? Sigh. Love you anyway.

      Like

  2. I didn’t say you were raised in the 50s. I know when you were born, Mother. I simply noticed that you had a distinctly familiar style. Later I realized it was reminiscent of The Pink Ladies. And I’d like to claim that I’m actually good at decorating cakes, that was an unfortunate mishap.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      Remember, daughter… you have a tendency to round my age to 100. Or is that just Farmington math?

      Like

  3. Belated birthday wishes. Congratulations on the new book release.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mae Clair says:

    LOL! You’d think we were fossils 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mae Clair says:

    I love that birthday wish dream. Then again, I’m kind of gone on RDJ, so I would be rushing out to support you both when he stars in the film version of your book 🙂
    Congrats on the new release. I’ve already got my copy of LOVE SET IN STONE (great title). The link took me some place weird on Facebook. Oh the plus side, I think your daughter’s cake is adorable. Sounds like you had an awesome day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      RDJ is an obsession of mine. That would be so cool… again, a birthday wish.

      I fought that stupid Facebook link for about twenty minutes last night. I thought I finally got it to work. Clearly, I am technically challenged. If you go to my wall, you can’t miss it. It got a ton of comments. Sorry. If i figure out how to just add it to the post, I will update it. :/

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Staci Troilo says:

      Never did figure out the embed thing. I finally just posted the photo. I won’t be offended by your laughter.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Joan says:

    My day was nothing like your’s. After all, it WAS a Monday. 🙂 Congrats on the book release. Sounds like you had a great day all around. Don’t give up on the dream. RDJ just might call you one day. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staci Troilo says:

      Well, my birthday wish didn’t come true—again—but it was a very nice day. And thanks for the congratulations. Book release days are always double-edge days for me. Exciting, but nervous. Combine it with a birthday? It was an emotional day.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Mae Clair says:

      OMG, that is sooo cute! I remember those days of feathered haircuts and innocent fun. It’s adorable! Thank you for sharing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Staci Troilo says:

        I remember them like they were yesterday. (I wish they were!) For some reason, though, my daughter seems to think they were in the 1950s!

        Liked by 1 person

I love chatting with friends. Leave a comment and let's talk.

