Tuesday Teaser—Love Set in Stone: Damien and Anael

We’ve talked about Love Set in Stone before, so I don’t think I’m letting any major plot points out with this little teaser. And even if you missed the earlier discussions, the title and the cover art certainly give the premise of the book away.

If you still don’t get it, I’ll be blunt.

The hero, Damien, is a gargoyle.

Without further ado, here is a tiny teaser from my upcoming release, Love Set in Stone.

He stood in the shadows of the alley and looked around. Not seeing anyone, he walked over to the dumpster and prepared for the painful transformation out of his human form. He took a deep breath and closed his eyes. Clothing tore away. Skin and bone stretched until ridges popped out on his spinal column. Claws formed on his hands and feet. Horns sprouted, as did a tail.

He shook off the agony, panted while he waited for the lingering aches to dull.

“We have a problem.”

Anael’s voice startled him, and not being stone, this time he did jump.

“Will you stop popping in like that?” His voice carried through the alley. “Give me warning or something.”

“What’s the point? My warning would surprise you as much as me appearing. It’s a waste of time. Just like this conversation.”

Damien closed his eyes and took a deep breath. “What do you want, Anael?”

Hmm? I wonder what Anael wants from Damien this time. That angel sure does seem to ask a lot of him. At least, that’s how Damien sees it. Oh, did you not know that Anael is an angel? I’m not sure if I mentioned it before. I think some of you knew. Well, if you didn’t know before, you know now.

Anael has become one of my favorite characters. I’m pretty sure I’m going to let Love Set in Stone remain a standalone novel rather than develop it into a series, but you’re definitely going to see Anael again. I’m borrowing him and another character that I totally fell in love with. They’re crossing over into another series. But more on that later.

I’m curious about what you think of characters in one world “visiting” other series. Do you like it when authors let their worlds collide like that, or do you prefer series to remain separate from each other? Let’s talk about it. (And if you have any comments regarding the teaser, that’s fine, too.)

5 thoughts on “Tuesday Teaser—Love Set in Stone: Damien and Anael

    • You know, when the plot came to me, the storyline seemed so natural. I couldn’t conceive of it going any other way. But when you guys say “gargoyles and angels”… I can just hear the incredulous tone. It really doesn’t sound like the two should be together. I can’t wait to hear what everyone has to say about it!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was in editing mode last week and probably will be for another week. Then I hope to start a certain western 🙂

    Love Set in Stone must be releasing before the Whispers series. I can’t wait to see how the two characters cross over. Happy writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the teaser! Can’t wait for this one, Staci! I don’t think I knew that Aneal was an angel, but I’m already in love with the idea.

    I’m trying to think if I ever read books where a character from one series popped up in another. Off the top of my head I can’t think of one….oh, wait! Cassandra Clare did that with a character I loved. Jem from her Infernal Devices series visited her Mortal Instruments series. Jem was my favorite character, so I was happy to see him again :). Yes, I definitely think you can get away with it.

    Isn’t it amazing how certain characters reach out and grab you? I have a secondary character in my current WIP who I’ve fallen in love with. The book is part of a series, so I already have plans for him to reappear in book 3. He IS the kind of character I could use in a related book outside of the series or even given his own novel.

    I’m looking forward to meeting Anael and Damien!

    Liked by 1 person

    • There was a period of time when I devoured everything JR Ward wrote. She crosses some of her characters over between series, sometimes just a mention here or there, sometimes just the same city. But I thought that was a cool concept, so I “borrowed” it. Two of the characters from Love Set in Stone are full-on crossing over from that book to the Whispers series. My two favorite characters, in fact. I didn’t get much writing done last week, because it was Holy Week and the kids were home and I was busy, but the week before, the last scene I wrote was between those two specific characters, and it was the most fun I’ve had writing in a long time. And… now I’m going back to it! Thanks for commenting, Mae.

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn...

